Michigan School of Psychology logo

Scholarship Recipients 2021/2022

MSP is committed to contributing annually to assist in student scholarships and aid. Scholarship and financial assistance funding is supported by gifts from alumni, family, and friends. Generally, funds are disbursed in the form of tuition credit.

During the 2021-2022 year we are pleased to announce the following recipients. The Cereta Perry Scholarship (CPS) was awarded to Dennis Brown (MA) and Tara Pope (PsyD 1). Courtney Cabell (PsyD 2) was awarded the Jill Benton Humanistic Psychology Scholarship (JBHPS). Seongwon Lee was the recipient of the Aombaye Ramsey Diversity Award. 

The Cereta Perry Scholarship (CPS) 

The Cereta Perry Scholarship honors the late Cereta Perry, PhD, co-founder of CHS/MSP, and her contributions to diversity in education. Dr. Perry was a lifelong advocate of MSP and its mission. This scholarship was established to recruit and support the academic goals of diverse incoming Master of Arts (MA) and Doctor of Clinical Psychology (PsyD) students.

Headshot of Dennis Brown
Dennis Brown (MA with ABA)
Photo of Tara Pope
Tara Pope (PsyD 1)
Photo of Courtney Cabell
Courtney Cabell (PsyD 1)

Jill Benton Humanistic Psychology Scholarship (JBHPS) 

This scholarship honors Jill Benton, former MSP librarian and alum, and her commitment to humanistic psychology. The JBHPS supports a PsyD student who is committed to advancing the science and practice of humanistic psychology as demonstrated by excellence in scholarship.

Photo of Seongwon Lee
Seongwon Lee (PsyD 2)

Aombaye Ramsey Diversity Award (ARDA) 

The Aombaye Ramsey Diversity Award (ARDA) was created in 2004 to honor Dr. Aombaye Ramsey’s lifelong commitment to social justice. This award supports a PsyD student who shares that same commitment to advocate on behalf of diversity issues. Priority will be given to applicants who belong to an ethnic, racial, or cultural group traditionally underrepresented in the field of psychology.